Skip to main content

Board of Directors


Tony BellasTony Bellas


Appointed to the Board
14 February 2011

Tony is Chairman of ERM Power, CTM Travel, Shine Lawyers and Novonix Ltd, all of which are listed on the Australian Securities Exchange. Mr Bellas is also a director of a number of unlisted companies in Queensland. Mr Bellas has previously held Chief Executive roles at Seymour Group, Ergon Energy and CS Energy. Prior to these roles, Mr Bellas had a long career with Queensland Treasury where he reached the position of Deputy Under Treasurer with oversight of Fiscal Strategy, Office of Government Owned Corporations and Office of State Revenue. In May 2012, Mr Bellas was appointed by the Queensland Government to chair an Independent Review Panel examining electricity network costs in Queensland. Mr Bellas has an MBA from QUT, and a Bachelor of Economics and Diploma in Education from the University of Queensland. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Fellow of CPA Australia.

Alison SempleAlison Semple

LTCL, BA, Grad Dip Tchg (Resource), Grad Cert Theol.

Elected to the Board
30 November 2012

Alison’s passion is people, reflected in her career as a secondary teacher specialising in Mathematics, English and those with special needs. She has three children, including a special 38 year old who lives with a severe intellectual disability and communicates with an electronic device. Alison is a Brisbane girl; her husband was raised on a cattle property and they enjoyed living in a regional city. She and her husband have advocated for decades serving on management committees. She has been the parent representative on Endeavour Foundation working groups including the Complaints Advisory Committee.

She and her husband have an active network of families within the sector including other states that are trialing NDIS and other countries that use different models of service delivery.

Suzie (Suzanne) ThorpeSuzie (Suzanne) Thorpe

Elected to the Board
30 November 2012

Suzie has been involved with Endeavour Foundation since the early 1980s; she has had a long personal connection because her son, who has Downs Syndrome, has had a 29 year career with the organisation.

She is a member of Endeavour Foundation’s South East Queensland Area Committee, and has had over 22 years membership in the Gold Coast Recreation and Sport group, which specialises in recreation for people with a disability.

Suzie has had a lifelong dedication to improving services and facilities for people with a disability and is passionate in continuing to effect positive change in an area she has already devoted much of her life to already.

As a retired marketing and promotions professional and small business owner Suzie is keen to draw on her professional skills to channel her experience in business and advocacy into the area she has been so passionate about all her life.

Pedro MendioleaPedro Mendiolea

BE (Hons) GDMgt MIEAust RPEQ CPEng

Elected to the Board
22 November 2013

Pedro Mendiolea is an Associate Director in the professional services company AECOM Australia and has worked for over 30 years in the civil and water infrastructure areas in both private practice and Government. He is a member of the North Queensland Area Committee of Endeavour Foundation.

He holds an honours degree in Civil Engineering with post Graduate qualifications in Management. He is a Member of the Institution of Engineers Australia and a Registered Professional Engineer in Queensland.

He has successfully completed the Company Directors Course delivered by the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He contributes much of his free time as a volunteer and is currently on the Board of Saints Catholic College at James Cook University, President of a North Queensland cultural organisation and member of the Australian Water Association (AWA) Regional Conference Committee. In 2012 he was awarded the AWA Regional Service award for Queensland.

His sister Ana is a long term client and supported employee of Endeavour Foundation. He aims to contribute to ensuring that Endeavour Foundation adapts well to the challenges of the NDIS.

Scott EllisScott Ellis

B.Bus – Accounting & Finance, ASA

Elected to the Board
22 November 2013

Scott has worked in the commercial and corporate finance industry for many years, dealing with many diversified industries ranging from smaller enterprises to large corporates. His experience has led him to recognise that every situation differs from the last, and he believes in working with people to find the best solution.

Scott has both an older brother and brother-in-law who have a disability. Scott has been around the Endeavour Foundation community for over 30 years. Having been raised in Cairns, Scott is acutely aware of the difficulties faced in regional areas in obtaining the services that meet the client’s needs. He has been involved with the local Area Committee since its formation. He is passionate about ensuring that Endeavour Foundation is successful so that people with a disability have the best options available for a happy and full life.

Yvonne KeaneYvonne Keane

Appointed to the Board
26 May 2014

Yvonne is an award winning TV producer, SugarBaby Cosmetics founder, and a councillor on Hills Shire Council in Sydney. Formerly a TV presenter and magazine columnist, Yvonne’s life changed with the birth of her first Child, Asher, who is hearing impaired.

In 2009, Yvonne founded the Hear the Children Early Intervention Centre, which provides life-changing early intervention to hearing-impaired babies and preschoolers. Yvonne then established Reach for the Rainbow to raise funds for underfunded early intervention services, and chairs Run for the Hills, a Fun-Run and Family Festival, attended by 35,000 people each year.

Yvonne’s outstanding contribution has been recognised with awards from her local community, the New South Wales government and the United Nations.

Yvonne delights in her family, which includes her husband Anthony and her children Asher and Saskia. She is passionately committed to the disabilities community and raising awareness about the benefits of early intervention. Yvonne’s goal is to use her skills to influence positive change for people living with a disability.

Paul CurriePaul Currie

B.Sc (Hons), PhD (Physics)

Elected to the Board
November 2014

Paul has a strong focus on the continued growth and development of opportunities for people with a disability, as Endeavour Foundation prepares for the challenging new NDIS environment.

Paul and wife Judy are long-term volunteers with Endeavour Foundation and son Andrew began work at Endeavour Foundation Warwick in 2003. Paul is a member of the Warwick Support Group, a member of the South-West Area Committee, an Advocacy Champion and was inaugural Deputy Chair of the Endeavour Foundation National Council.

Formerly a Director of the Parent Education Centre in Brisbane and Administrative Principal of a private school in Warwick, Paul was instrumental in developing a joint State-Commonwealth funded program for youth at risk, Project Australia.

Paul has held senior executive support roles in a wide range of organisations from small not-for-profits to those with more than $1 billion annual turnover, including Griffith University and Toowoomba Regional Council. He also holds a Doctor of Philosophy in Physics.

Scroll to top